Advanced Dashboards Functionality

Dashboard-wide Date Ranges and Filters

Dashboards allow you to alter some aspects of the queries within each of the reports on that dashboard, making it simple to ensure every report is showing results from a consistent set of data.  Both date ranges and filters can be added by clicking "Add Filter" at the top right of the dashboard.  This will open a row, shown below, where the date range can be selected, and filters can be applied.

Screen_Shot_2022-01-07_at_2.35.49_PM.png

By default, date ranges and filters are temporary, allowing you to explore the data without overwriting the dashboard. But, if you wish to save the date range and filter selections you've made to the dashboard, so they'll appear for other users as well, click "Save to Dashboard."

Note

Applying date ranges and filters on a dashboard does not change the queries saved in each individual report; instead, it only changes the data displayed when you view those reports in the current dashboard. If you click into a report from the dashboard, however, Mixpanel will maintain the date range and filters to ensure you see data consistent between the dashboard and report. Navigate to the report on its own, though, and you'll see the report's original saved date range and filters.

Formatting Text on Dashboards

Highlighting text you've added will pop up a menu where you can apply the following styling options:

  • Font size (title, subtitle, text)
  • List type (bullets or ordered)
  • Bold, Highlight, Italic, Strikethrough, Underline
  • Quote block
  • Hyperlinks
  • Dividers

Note that some options (ordered lists, quote blocks, underline, and dividers) are available in the "three dot" overflow menu on the righthand side of the formatting popup.

Screen_Shot_2022-06-15_at_3.32.32_PM.png

Adding Media Cards to Dashboards

To further add context to reports on dashboards, you can add media cards.

   Screen_Shot_2022-08-17_at_10.56.02_AM.png

Media cards support local images and embedded videos. Media cards are able to be resized horizontally or vertically, similar to Report cards. 

For images, the supported uploads file types are PNG, JPG and GIF. GIFs will loop automatically. The upload limit is 5MB. For videos, the supported embedded video links are Vimeo, YouTube and Loom. In order for your team to be able to see uploaded videos, ensure that video settings are not set to private. See the following help articles to understand video privacy settings.

Note: This feature is in a percentage rollout and not available for all organizations yet.

 

Dashboard Email Digests

Dashboard Email Digests are a snapshot of a dashboard sent as an email. Digests allow members to share recent data with both project members and external audiences, providing quick and meaningful insight into a Mixpanel project.

You must be a project owner, admin, or analyst to create email digests.

Digests can be sent once or sent repeatedly, presenting the option to send pertinent information once or to send data updates on a recurring basis. They can easily be built and managed as part of a Mixpanel Dashboard report. Note that digests only show the 8 reports that are on the top of a dashboard.

To create an Email Dashboard Digest:

  1. Select Email Digests from the overflow menu at the top right of the dashboard.
    Screen_Shot_2022-01-07_at_2.53.36_PM.png
  2. The Email Digest Settings Control Center will display all active Email Digests. To create a new Email Digest, click + Create Digest in the top right corner.
  3. Fill out the resulting form, including the name of the digest, the dashboard upon which the digest is based (note: the digest will only contain the first 8 reports in the dashboard due to email size limitations), the intended recipients (any email address will receive the digest, whether or not they are internal or external to your organization), and the sending frequency (one time ASAP, daily, weekly, or monthly).
  4. Click 'Send'.

Digests for Private Dashboards

It is possible to share an email digest for a private dashboard. However, there are some restrictions to what will be visible or accessible.

  1. If you convert a regular dashboard with digests into a private dashboard, existing digests will still work with existing recipients. However, if they click View Dashboard, they will not be able to access your private dashboard. Creating new digests or editing existing digests within the private dashboard will force you to limit recipients to yourself.
  2. You cannot edit digests of someone else’s private dashboard without selecting a different dashboard that you have access to (regardless of your permissions or role). You can still delete the digest or select a different dashboard.
  3. You cannot see the title of someone else’s private dashboard in a digest. The private dashboard will appear as “Unknown Private Dashboard”.

Sharing

Sharing and permissions are set at the dashboard level, and all reports saved on a dashboard inherit the same set of sharing and permissions settings of that dashboard.

To share a dashboard, and therefore all reports contained within it, click the Share button at the top right of the dashboard. From here, sharing works as before, but remember, sharing a dashboard now shares all of that dashboards' reports as well. Click here to learn more about sharing.

GIF3__light_.gif

Both reports and dashboards can also be shared via the "Copy URL" button at the top right. Clicking this button will immediately copy the short link to the report or dashboard, so you can quickly paste it into your application of choice.

Screen_Shot_2021-11-08_at_11.01.00_AM.png

So long as the recipient has access to the project, they will be able to see the shared report or dashboard. However, unless they have specifically given Editor permissions, they will only be able to view it, not edit it.

Permissions

Sharing and permissions are set at the dashboard level, and all reports saved on a dashboard inherit the same set of sharing and permissions settings of that dashboard.

In the sharing process, you can choose the permissions level granted to the individual with whom you're sharing the dashboard. Teammates with access to a dashboard can either be Viewers (any changes made will not be saved) or Editors (changes made will be saved). Click here to learn more about permissions.

As with sharing, setting a user's permission level on a dashboard will give them the same permission level for all reports on that dashboard.

Did this answer your question?

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.