Introducing Mixpanel's New Dashboard Experience

Screen_Shot_2021-11-06_at_8.02.27_PM.png

Mixpanel is pleased to offer a new and improved Dashboard experience, which makes using Mixpanel faster, simpler, and easier. As you use Mixpanel with these improvements, you'll likely notice that...

Common workflows are faster: We've taken a comprehensive look at the common workflows between reports and dashboards, and trimmed the fat. Saving a report and adding it to a dashboard, for instance, has gone from six clicks to two.

Existing reports are easier to find: In the new system, reports are always saved to dashboards, making dashboards essentially folders for reports. Now, when you save a report, you'll know where to find it.

Sharing content is simpler: Sharing and Permissions are set at the dashboard level, so all reports on a dashboard have the same settings. This makes sharing analyses with your team a breeze!

Key changes

Reports are always saved to dashboards

Previously, reports were separately saved and added to dashboards. This led to untold numbers of reports being created, saved, abandoned, and later recreated after having been lost to the void.

In this new experience, when you save a report, you'll be prompted to save it to a specific dashboard. In essence, the dashboard now acts as a folder, with many potential purposes, including:

  • A centralized place to track numerous metrics related to a product launch
  • A chain of analyses digging into a particular behavior or issue
  • A set of draft reports you're working on

This will make it easy to keep reports organized, and reduce time wasted recreating the same reports again and again.

Note: This change only applies to the reports that can added to dashboards—Mixpanel's core reports: Insights, Flows, Funnels, and Retention. Advanced reports like Signal, Experiments, and Impact have been moved to the Applications folder at the top right of the page.

Sharing and permissions are set at the Dashboard level

Previously, sharing and permissions were editable at both the report and dashboard level. This made managing sharing and permissions tedious due to the sheer number of items requiring individual settings.

Now, all reports saved on the same dashboard will have the same sharing and permissions settings. This means sharing multiple reports with your team is a simple matter of sharing the dashboard. As before, however, any report or dashboard can be shared by simply clicking the "Copy URL" button, and sharing the resulting short link.

Clear relationships between multiple dashboard cards of the same report

Previously, Mixpanel reports could be added to multiple dashboards, or multiple times to the same dashboard. However, the relationship between these multiple report copies was unclear—they could have different names in different places, leading to confusion upon editing the report.

Now, reports can still exist on multiple dashboards, but the original and copies of the report are clearly noted, and it's easy to see all the dashboards where a report exists. It is also still possible to change the chart type of a report copy, enabling you to look at a report in multiple different views for a more complete understanding of the metric.

Migration details

What happens to existing reports not on dashboards?

As part of the switch, every user will be given a personal dashboard called "My Reports." Any saved reports not currently on a dashboard will be saved to their creator's personal dashboard, when the project is migrated to the new dashboards experience.

Note: Personal dashboards will be private by default, making the reports contained therein private as well. If you need to reshare one of these reports, simply move it to an appropriate shared dashboard.

What happens to reports on multiple dashboards?

All copies of reports on dashboards will remain where they are. However, there will be two notable changes:

  1. The copy of the report that was first added to a dashboard will be marked the original, and all the other copies will reference that original. Updating the original updates the copies.
  2. All copies of the report will have the same name, so any copies that had previously had their names edited will revert to the name of the original report.

Opting in and out

We're offering the new dashboards experience on an opt-in basis for all customers starting November 15th, 2021 until December 13th, 2021. On December 13th, all projects will automatically be migrated to the new experience.

Until then, users in the Project Owner role can choose to opt in and out of the experience on an individual project level. All users of that project will have the same experience.

To opt in, navigate to Dashboards, then follow the prompts at the bottom left of the page, within the dashboards side navigation.

To opt out, go to Dashboards again, and find the appropriate button at the bottom left of the Dashboards side navigation. If you do choose to opt out, we would appreciate your feedback on why you prefer the classic experience!

Using the new experience

Please reference the following articles to learn more about...

Did this answer your question?

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.