Data Residency in EU

Data Residency refers to the physical/geographical storage location of an organization's data or information. Read on to learn how to ensure you are enrolled in our EU Data Residency program. 

As a Mixpanel customer in the EU, you have the option to send your data to Mixpanel's EU data center, and have your data stored exclusively in the EU. You do not automatically get Data Residency and are not automatically set up in the EU data center. Read on to learn how to ensure you are enrolled in our EU Data Residency program. 

Mixpanel is at feature parity between the product experience we offer to our EMEA and North American customers. You do not lose any product capability because you choose to store your data in the EU.

If you are coming to use it from a Customer Data Platform (CDP), Mixpanel cannot guarantee that data ingestion, processing and storage will always stay within the EU region. Please work with your CDP to make sure they are sending your data to the EU endpoint. 

The following diagram shows how Mixpanel's Data Residency works:

Screen_Shot_2020-02-05_at_11.06.21_AM.png

New Customers

To opt in to EU residency, you should first go to the setup page. This page can be reached either through the "We don't have any data!" banner:

img1.png

Or you can access the set up page by clicking the gear icon in the top right, then clicking "Set up Mixpanel":

img2.png

Inside the setup page, click the Data Residency tab on the left, then click the checkbox to enable EU data residency:

img3.png

Note that if you've already begun tracking data to the US, you will need to go through the existing customer migration process below.

Existing Customers

Mixpanel can migrate all your historical data and set you up in our EU data center. If you are an Enterprise customer, you must reach out to your Relationship Manager, Account Executive, or Sales Representative to begin the migration process. If you are not an Enterprise customer, you must reach out to Mixpanel support to begin migration.

Once your historical data has been migrated, you will also be required to make tracking implementation changes as described here. It is important to wait to make this tracking change until after the historical data has been migrated, as updating your tracking early may lead to inconsistency in your data. 

When you request a project to be migrated to our EU data center, we will add it to the queue of migrating projects. When your project is processed, it goes through the following steps:

  • Pause ingestion of identity management data, clone incoming identity management traffic to EU, migrate previous identity management data to EU, unpause ingestion in both regions
  • Pause ingestion of people profile data, clone incoming people profile traffic to EU, migrate previous people profile data to EU, unpause ingestion in both regions
  • Migrate historical event data to EU (all data prior to the last five days)
  • Pause ingestion of event data, clone incoming event traffic to EU, migrate recent event data to EU, unpause ingestion in both regions
  • Update the default cluster to EU (this only changes where users are taken on login)

At this point it's safe to update tracking to EU, although you'll still have access to the US data for a few weeks or until you ask us to disable it.

FAQ

How long should I expect this to take?

We should finish migrating your data within approximately two weeks, although we'll often do so well before that.

 

What if I want access to my US data for longer than a few weeks?

We're happy to leave access to US data available for a bit longer; just mention it in the support ticket when you request the migration or after we let you know we've finished it.

 

How long will ingestion be paused for any of these steps?

Typically ingestion should only be delayed for an hour or two for any step.

 

What happens if some users are slow to update their apps?

We clone all incoming traffic to the US post-migration, even after we've disabled access to US data. At that point, we'll forward the traffic to the EU (and not ingest it in the US), so you'll never lose data.

 

Will my bookmarks still work?

Your bookmarks will still take you to your US project until we've disabled access to it. At that point, they will redirect to the EU and work the same way they did before.

 

Will my new projects be in the US or the EU?

Once we've finished migrating the projects that you've requested, we'll ask if you would like to update the default region for all new projects in your organization. If you want to make a project in a region other than the default, you can still do so by following the steps above for new projects.

 

What if I have group profile data?

If you have group profile data, there will be two additional steps prior to updating the default cluster. One of those steps will clone group profiles, similar to the user profiles. The other step will be to backfill the event data for your entire project history (there is no ingestion pausing during this step).

Did this answer your question?

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.